The 7 Chakras and Their Healing Power

Understanding the 7 chakras can be beneficial for someone who sees a massage therapist or energy healing therapist to balance the entire body, mind, spirit system.

The chakras are the seven major energy vortices, correlating to the organs and gland systems of the body, located along the central body, which are located from the base of the spine to the top of the head.

These areas also have emotional, psychological, and spiritual aspects which are very important to proper body function.

Understanding the chakras can allow the therapist to go past the physical issues, and also connect with the deeper issues of the massage client.

The 7 chakra stones, with their associated colors and affirmations from the root (lowest) to the crown (highest):

7. Crown - Violet – Amethyst, Diamond.
Affirmation: I am one with the infinite all

6. Third Eye - Indigo - Lapis Lazuli, Opal.
Affirmation: My mind is clear & open to divine wisdom

5. Throat - Blue – Blue Topaz, Blue Lace Agate.
Affirmation: I speak my truth clearly and kindly

4. Heart - Green - Jade, Emerald.
Affirmation: I give and receive unconditional love

3. Solar Plexis - Yellow – Amber, Citrine.
Affirmation: I am one with the power of the universe

2. Sacral - Orange – Orange Agate, Carnelian.
Affirmation: I am creative and connected

1. Root – Red - Ruby, Garnet.
Affirmation: I am grounded and supported

The chakra stones are gently placed on their correlating body points to remove blocked energies, and create balance.

All types of bodywork practitioners are beginning to study chakras and energy healing therapies, how they all work, and how to help clients to bring balance to different parts of the body through the 7 chakras.

The first three chakras corralate to the physical body, and relate to our need for water, energy, and food.

The first chakra, at the spine's base or tailbone, relates to our foundation and feelings of being grounded and supported. It is related to emotional issues of survival, such as financial independance and having enough food and water.

The second chakra is related to our relationships and how we accept others and accept new experiences. It is located in the lower abdominal area, 2 inches below the navel. It is related to our sense of well-being, pleasure and abundance.

The third chakra in the abdomen area is related to our ability to be confident and in control of our own lives. It is correlated with self-worth and esteem.

Our fourth chakra, or heart chakra, is related to our ability to love and be loved. This chakra is important in our emotions of feeling love and joy.

The fifth chakra at the throat is related to communication, and emotional feelings of truth and expression of self....and is very important when learning about the 7 chakras.

The sixth chakra is related to the third eye and our ability to see the big picture in life. It is located on the forehead between the eyes and correlates to our ability to make decisions and use our imagination and wisdom.

The seventh chakra is our crown chakra, the highest, and relates to our ability to be fully connected to our spirituality. It correlates with emotion feelings of inner and outer beauty.

In chakras (1-6), the odd chakras, 1, 3, 5 are often referred to as "masculine" in nature (contractive) and the even chakras 2, 4, 6 are often "feminine" by nature.

Sound is energy as well, and voice tones also have the ability to alter the consciouse state.

Voice statements should always be positive, and present tense. Frequent repetitions with good intention can create chakras that are healthy and will support the body, mind and spirit.

This is a video clip of Steve Murray's Chakra Healing DVD:

The full-length DVD, Chakra Healing Step By Step by Reiki Master Steve Murray teaches this therapy and how it can positively influence your overall health and well-being.

Other Resources

For more info on the chakras, please visit:

Toning types of meditations help to balance the 7 chakras, and practitioners may sing or chant affirmations for the goal the client should be focused on for each chakra.

Go back Massage Education Guide Homepage

Go back to Types of Energy Healing from Understanding the 7 Chakras

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.